• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!


Alzheimer's Disease Working Group

Page history last edited by Kate Tripoli 13 years ago

Alzheimer's Disease Working Group

Transforming Minnesota into the first dementia-competent state in the nation


In May 2009, the Minnesota state legislature passed HF 1760, creating the Alzheimer's Disease Working Group under the supervision of the Minnesota Board on Aging. The working group consisted of 20 members appointed by the Board on Aging and Governor Tim Pawlenty and was co-led collaboratively by the Board on Aging and the Alzheimer's Association Minnesota - North Dakota. They spent 18 months examining the array of needs of individuals diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease, services available to meet these needs, and the capacity of the state and current providers to meet these and future needs. Much of this work was carried out in partnership with nearly 100 members of five expert teams, each with a specific charge and focus - Achieving Quality; Dementia Capable Communities; Early Identification and Support; Health and Health Care; and Research.

The working group brought their findings to the state at a rally held at the Capitol on January 13, 2011 and delivered a report making vital recommendations on policy and legislative actions. This event also launched a new initiative, Prepare Minnesota for Alzheimer's 2020, led by the Alzheimer's Association.


Working Group Members

Terry Barclay, PhD, Neuropsychologist, Health Partners

Mary Birchard, Executive Director, Alzheimer's Association MN-ND

Jayne Clairmont, Member, MN Board on Aging

Patricia Cullen, President and CEO, Care Providers of MN

Michael Demmer, President and CEO, Prairie Senior Cottages

Chair, Charles Denny, Caregiver, Community Member

Michael Donohue, Retired, Community Member

Jayne Hager Dee, Vice Chair, MN Board on Aging

Kathleen Harrington, Chair, MN Board on Aging

Robert Held, Director, Nursing Facility Rates and Policy Division, MN Department of Human Services

Deb Holtz, Ombudsman for Long Term Care, MN Board on Aging

Neil Johnson, Executive Director, MN Homecare Association

William Keigan, Retired, Community Member

Mary Manning, Director, Health Promotion and Chronic Disease, MN Department of Health

Anne Murray, MD, Geriatrician, Hennepin County Medical Center

Ronald Petersen, MD, PhD, Neurologist and Director, Abigail van Buren Alzheimer's Disease Research Center, Mayo Clinic

Catherine Sampson, Director, Arrowhead Area Agency on Aging

George Schoephoerster, MD, Family Physician, Geriatric Services of MN

Carol Shapiro, Caregiver, Community Member

John Thomas, MD, Medical Director, Red River Valley Hospice

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.